About Teams

TEAMS was originally founded as a committee of the Medieval Academy of America to develop new ways to support the teaching activities of its members. It was later re-organized as an independent nonprofit educational corporation whose mission continues to be the support of teaching in medieval studies at the undergraduate, secondary, and elementary school level through the provision of resources and the sharing of techniques.

Its current programs include the publication of TEAMS Teaching Texts in cooperation with Medieval Institute Publications, the maintenance of an online library of Middle English texts, and the establishment of a committee for outreach to secondary schools. It sponsors several sessions of papers at the annual International Congress on Medieval Studies at Western Michigan University. TEAMS also publishes a peer-reviewed electronic journal, The Once and Future Classroom: Resources for Teaching the Middle Ages in Grades K-12, and sponsors an annual teaching prizeto recognize excellence in teaching medieval studies in the K-12 classroom.



Board of Directors

Thomas Goodmann
—English, University of Miami

B. Joy Ambler
—History, Dwight-Englewood
(Vice President, Conference Sessions Coordinator, Teaching Prize Co-chair)

Kara Crawford
(Vice President, Teaching Prize Co-chair)
—English, The Bishop’s School

Gale Sigal
(Vice President, The Once and Future Classroom Editor)
—English, Wake Forest University

Danielle Joyner
—Art History, Lawrence University

Lauryn S. Mayer (Dark God of the Web)
—English, Washington & Jefferson College

Carol Robinson (Exiting Webmaster)
—English, Kent State University at Trumbull

Deborah M. Sinnreich-Levi
(Associate Editor, The Once and Future Classroom)
—College of Arts and Letters, Stevens Institute of Technology

Donald Chew
—Morgan Stanley; Editor, Journal of Applied Corporate Finance

Russell Peck
(Chair of Editorial Board)*, Editor of METS
—English, University of Rochester


Gina Brandolino
—English, University of Michigan

Susanna Fein
—English, Kent State University
Editor of The Chaucer Review,  Associate Editor of METS

Anne Harris
—Art and Art History, DePauw University

Jonathan Hsy
—English, George Washington University

Daniel T. Kline
—English, University of Alaska, Anchorage

Anne Lester
—History, The Johns Hopkins University; Chair of CARA

David Perry
—History, University of Minnesota

David Raybin
—English, Eastern Illinois University (Emeritus)

Ann Marie Rasmussen
—Right Honourable John G. Diefenbaker Memorial Chair of German Literary Studies (Department of Germanic and Slavic Studies)
University of Waterloo (Ontario, Canada)

Marisa Sikes
—English, Austin Peay State University


Editorial Board

Sara S. Poor, Chair*
—German Language and Literature, Princeton University

Robert Edwards
—English and Comparative Literature, Penn State University

Susanna Fein
—English, Kent State University
Editor of The Chaucer Review

Andrew “Drew” Hicks
—Department of Music, Cornell University

E. Ann Matter
—Religious Studies, Penn State University

Russell Peck
—John Hall Deane Professor of English at University of Rochester; Middle English Literature

Joel Rosenthal
—History, SUNY-Stony Brook

Karen Saupe
—English, Calvin College

Evelyn Vitz
—French and Comparative Literature, New York University